BBK Long tube headers, questions

99FiveOh

10 Year Member
May 20, 2006
J-Ville, FL
I'm getting a great deal on a set of longtube headers, and I figured since i'm gonna be swapping in a new motor soon, I can install them then.

My question is, how much more power do they make than shorties, realistically? Sound difference?

Also, I can't seem to find a short H pipe in the Summit catalog for 94/95's that work with the 94/95 headers, what have you guys done to make it work? Can my H pipe I just bougt from Summit be modified to work with the longtubes?

I'm new to long tubes territory!

• Sponsors (?)

In all honesty :)

If talking WOT or Peak Power

LT's and Shortys will not be radically different :eek:

Where LT's really shine is on a NA application :Word:

Their longer primary tubes and true collector promote scavenging :nice:

They yield more low and mid range torque than shortys ;)

Grady

Grady hit it dead on. To get max power you'd want LTs with collectors instead of the ball system our stock exhaust and most aftermarket has, I wish I had LTs on both my cars, but ah well.... my 65 will get all the nice parts like that once she's ready to be worked on

I noticed these BBK LT's have a ball collector on them, is that a bad thing? Is there any power to be had by cutting the ball collector off and welding flanges on? Just seems redundant to design a header and defeat it's purpose by putting ball collectors on it..lol

I noticed these BBK LT's have a ball collector on them, is that a bad thing? Is there any power to be had by cutting the ball collector off and welding flanges on? Just seems redundant to design a header and defeat it's purpose by putting ball collectors on it..lol

The ball and socket collector seals much better than the old flat flange
style collector which uses a gasket

Does the b&c collector offer more restriction :scratch:

I would have to say ... YES

Then again ... For a typical Street Car NA combo at 300 or less