Brakes locked, someone please help!!

tylerdred

Founding Member
Sep 26, 2001
Chicago, IL
Ok, let me start off by saying that I am an amateur.

I was changing the front two brake pads on my car. After changing the pads, I had this retarded notion that I had to bleed the brakes after a pad change. So I bled the brakes. That is where the trouble began. I had someone pump the brake pedal, and opened the bleeder screw. I did this on the passenger side first and then the driver side. But for some reason, the driver side brakes seem to "lock up" on the caliper. Even without pressing the brake at all, the driver side rotor does not spin freely. So I took the pads out again, and pushed the caliper piston back in. When I pushed the pedal back in, the caliper locks on and never lets go. It only does this on the driver side. The passenger side spins freely and only stops when you press the brake pedal. The driver side stays put and doesn't spin freely. Did I mess up something when I bled the brakes? Could the driver side caliper be broken? I should let you all know that the both brake calipers were working perfectly before the pad change. Please let me know what you guys think I should do.

Thanks

• Sponsors (?)

Ok, let me start off by saying that I am an amateur.