Getting my shortblock ready. Need advice.

voodoo

Founding Member
Feb 16, 2001
Pensacola, Fl
I'm putting a shortblock from an 88LX in my 94 GT. The engine had about 80,000 miles on it when it was pulled for a ford racing 351 crate engine. The block and everything is very clean. The cylnder walls are slick as a baby's bottom and no ridges or grooves on them and you can see the original hone marks. I am going to put in a B303 new push rods, lifters, timing chain, mild heads with appropriate springs and rockers for the cam. Also a new oil pump. Anything else I should do to be safe or to freshin it up. I'll take my time with this and have it ready in a few months. Any advise will help this is my first time around doing this.

• Sponsors (?)

Also forgot to mention my current engine has about 146,000 miles with about 110, 000 of them being interstate miles back and forth from nashville, in to louisville, ky Will I feel a difference in power with my current mods??

Yes you will feel a major difference. Mainly depending on the heads you use. Do you have any idea of what heads ur gonna use? I ran a B cam, its great in the midrange, and i just found out from my friend who sold me the motor that he had advanced it two degrees for more top end pull. It ran awesome like this, good pull up to around 6k, i would reccomend it.

About the tear down.. Since its ur first time around doing this, get lots of little plastic baggies for all the bolts you take out, and label the bags. It will save you in the end.

I would build up the newer engine on a stand, then just swap it into your engine bay..

Just take your time, and if you have any issues along the way post here. Good luck :nice: