Got my '06 GT in May, need a little advice

bloggins

Oct 15, 2006
Hi everyone,

This is my first post on the forum but I've been lurking around for quite a while. First, some Mustang history:

- First Mustang was an 86 5.0GT Convertible
- Second was an 01 GT (got laid off, had to sell it, boo)
- Third was an 87 GT. Got it as a wedding present but had to sell because it was entirely stripped and didn't have time to work on it
- In May I bought my 06 GT. It's a premium coupe, 5 spd

So I've had some experience with Mustangs; here are my observations about the car so far as well as some questions:

1) Unlike my 01 GT, throttle response seems less crisp and there's a definite "hang" in the RPMs when letting off the gas or clutch. I read a post about it and I understand that's an emissions feature, but I have to wonder if it costs more in gas over the long run

2) These problems surfaced after I bought the car:
- CDs skip badly (I found a TSB for this)
- After about two months, now the Brake light, ABS light, and Traction control light stay lit once I start the car. Traction control is off and the info display says "Check Brake System". Took it in for warranty work and they had no clue but when they disconnected and reconnected the wiring to the ECU, the problem went away. A week later it's back again, so now I guess it has to go in the shop for a while until they figure it out. There is no TSB for this problem so just looks like a bug in my car.

Now for the questions. I saw several suggestions about a FAQ and a "get started modding for newbies" article but haven't found any yet, so I thought I'd ask some questions:

1) Car seems less torquey than my 01GT, probably due to the 3V. Has anyone else noticed this? What's the remedy? Which leads me to...
2) Performance tuning. Do I need to do anything fancy or just find the right chip for my tastes? I'd appreciate any pointers on what to get in this area (I'm looking for streetability, and I don't drag race)