Hello from a Newbie and his Quest To 300/300!

Zitro11

Jul 16, 2021
Marietta, GA
Hello! :cheers: My name is Jeremy, and I'm new to the Mustang scene (previous project car was a '13 WRX, @405hp, 465tq). I now have a 98 Cobra convertible, all stock. I've wanted a Cobra for years!

I don't want to go too crazy with this build - my hope is 300hp/300tq while staying NA. Am I crazy? My understanding with these motors is the 300hp will come easy, but hitting 300tq w/o FI is the more challenging part.

If I were to go CIA, long tubes with a catted h-pipe and catback with a tune, am I in the ball park? If not, what else can I do to hit 300/300 without FI?

Look forward to the journey! Here's a couple shots of Scarlett ;)

Attachments

• Cobra One small.jpg
    Cobra One small.jpg
    625.5 KB · Views: 51
  • Cobra Butt Small.jpg
    Cobra Butt Small.jpg
    689.3 KB · Views: 53
  • Sponsors (?)

Cool looking car. Color is very nice, and I like the way you take care of it. I am sure if you read on all your answers are here on this site. Post up some more pictures of the engine, and interior.

You misunderstood him Noobz with FI - Forced Induction, not fuel injection.

I agree with Noobz that you are already there stock. Factory rated at 305 hp @5800/ 300 ft/lbs. @4800.

Ah, very well. :D

I'm the wrong guy to ask then because I'd slap an Eaton or Twin Screw and fuel system on it and never look back and never have a day's trouble with it (except maybe frequent clutch changes). It has the added benefit of blowing your goals away by another 50+ HP/TQ. We wouldn't want that. :jester:

It would be incredibly fun on the street. LoL