help with new 302 HO in a 90

DrClaw7

Sep 10, 2010
Asheville, Nc
hi all ~ im new to the stangnet community. i run my own customer shop out of my personal garage, mostly a side business (i work at a normal repair shop for my day job). so its not like im new to cars. but in i specialize in euro cars. i've built my bmw from top to bottom and back to front, and many others like it. but i took a job for a friend on a 90 mustang he just picked up. 92k on the dash, the PO said it was all original 92,xxx miles. supposed to be an ex police car. 5.0 HO. body is strait, its a coupe. headman headers, custom exhaust with flowmasters. the red paint could use a buff, but its not bad. i can see lots of over spray, and lots of bare yellow in the engine bay shows its not the original paint. so i've been threw hell with this car....so this might get a bit long winded, my apologizes in advance.

drove it around for 2 days then after spinning tires threw 2nd gear there was a loud clang and it started running like crap and rattling. so inspection began...around 2 quarts low on oil. pulled the valve covers and one valve seal on the drivers side was cracked and pieces of it are moving around inside the valve spring. on the other side a mounting bolt for the very rear rocker arm pedestal snapped off and the arm was laying on its side. also i should note that the entire top end of this car was filthy. new alternator, cap/rotor, wires (cut to fit accel wires that weren't cut and jumbled all over the engine bay), plugs...so some one put one some shiny new parts....but inside of the drivers side valve cover had twigs and leaves in it along with both sides having an amazingly think layer of built up grim. i measured nearly a half inch of gunk in a few spots. a/c compressor seems good but the lines are entirely missing (like i've seen a million times when people throw another motor in, esspecially from a junk yard...)

the tear down begins...