hi...... a beginners question PLZ answer

Mustanggt108

Sep 23, 2005
guys this is not a joke.I'm really new in the car world.a person has to start somewhere right!?
anyways i hear people always saying they removed the air silencer on their mustangs. what is the air silencer ? and where is it located?and how can i remove it. maybe a picture might help too. Thank you so much guys and sorry for the noob question

• Sponsors (?)

Only a newbie once - WELCOME!
The air silencer is the rubber cone attached to the air filter housing. At the end, the opening is only about 3 inches, but if you remove it entirely, the opening on the housing is much larger.
How to do it? Remove the housing completely (like you are changing the air filter - there is a clamp the you need to flip the lock on, then manuveur the housing off) then just tug on the silencer. As stated, it's just rubber and will bend/flex. Then reassemble.

squares98 said:
if you want some real advice, dont waste your time removing the silencer. It wont do anthing besides make you exhaust annoying

Someone had a dyno sheet with and without the silencer on a stock GT, the silencer took two or close to two overall horsepower away.

Okay yea, so it's not something youre really gonna feel.. but it's worth it.

How did it make your exhaust annoying? On my stock GT it's fine.

WillDuhhBeast said:
Someone had a dyno sheet with and without the silencer on a stock GT, the silencer took two or close to two overall horsepower away.

Okay yea, so it's not something youre really gonna feel.. but it's worth it.

How did it make your exhaust annoying? On my stock GT it's fine.

Send a link then, please. Here's one saying he gained both HP and torque.

http://forums.stangnet.com/showthread.php?t=582208