How much can a A4LD take before it breaks?

Late next week I will be opening up my A4LD out of my '93. Not too long ago (18,000) I had rebuilt it. I had performed a few upgrades that were suggested by the Automatic Transmission Rebuild Industry. An upgrade that I added was swapping the 3rd and 4th gear shift servo's. Stock it was a pretty pronounced shift from 3rd to 4th with is normally ok, but I wanted a smoother shift back and forth between 3rd and 4th, like a Lincoln or Cadillac (oops I said a bad word) shift. Now you may ask yourself "Why the Duck would he want to do this?, I want to feel it shift Man" Well, the terrain that I live in is far from flat. In just a couple of minutes, in places, you can change feet above sea level up to 500 feet. I am not a transmission man by trade, my repertoire (Repertoire was borrowed from French répertoire) of transmission rebuilding consists of old C-4's and A4LD's. Oh yeah, 4 Speed Toploader's but it's been a while, But any Automatic Transmission man will tell you that the cadillac shift wears on the soft parts quicker as opposed to a solid shift.
Well before it gave out on me,it started slipping. One day, On the way to work, it quit pulling. I was stuck on the main path, fortunately not much traffic. At some point, I wound up the engine and at the same time that it engaged I heard a very loud pop ! I didn't let up and got in to the parking lot at work. After that it would not do anything except for reverse. I'm assuming that I broke a Band. I am just now getting around to working on it and now it is it's turn.
IF anyone is interested I will document my going back through this transmission again. Now anyone that has done this knows that it takes extra time to stop and take pics and the other things involved with documentation. I will be glad to do this if the information will help someone. I have learned a lot of stuff from this Forum and I want to pay back a little. Respond if you are interested.

• Sponsors (?)