Introduction & help with brakes

Jerardo Sr.

Mar 22, 2019
Longview, Tx
Hello everyone I'm jerardo Sr, I recently acquired a bone stock 97' mustang GT around March this year. It began to leak brake fluid & upon further investigation it leaking fluid on the passenger side catalytic converter. When I openend the hood I noticed on the passenger side firewall it was leaking brake fluid. How can I fix this problem? Thanks in advance for all of the advice & my apologies for such a long intro thread I just wanted to be thorough.
IMG_20190823_080607119.jpg

• Sponsors(?)

Jerardo Sr.

Mar 22, 2019
Longview, Tx
No sir, I'm new to ford mustangs. I always owned gm vehicles & this is my first ford. I spoke to a college classmate & he suggested that it might be the hydrovac that's leaking.

Jerardo Sr.

Mar 22, 2019
Longview, Tx
I just got under the car & the spot that's leaking smells like water. All the brake hoses are intact but I found the h pipe busted & leaking trans lines. It's unrelated but I felt like I needed to bring it up to further excel in solving this problem.
IMG_20190823_093011491.jpg
IMG_20190823_093030651.jpg

Noobz347

Stangnet Facilities Maint Tech... Er... Janitor
Admin Dude
Jan 4, 1985
Box behind Walmart
www.stangnet.com
What are your brake fluid and transmission fluid levels currently?

That looks to me like a rear main seal leak or a leak from the back of the lower intake gasket.

General karthief

wonder how much it would cost to ship you a pair
Mod Dude
Aug 25, 2016
polk county florida
That first pic is the drain for the ac evaporator, it is right above the exhaust pipe I think and that may be the reason for the broken pipe.

Jerardo Sr.

Mar 22, 2019
Longview, Tx
That last pic is under the dash, back of master cylinder at the rod, if that is brake fluid leaking, and it likely is, then you need to change the master cylinder.