It's All Been Done..

OrangeRush98

Mar 3, 2017
Oklahoma
Hi, this is my first time ever using a forum. I would like to get some feedback from you all before I hit the dyno in a few weeks. Maybe I can get some estimates as to what to expect when I get there as far as HP/TQ and 1/4 time. I've never been to a dyno nor have I ran at the track, but that is soon to come. So I bought a 98 GT that has basically all the bolt ons it could have besides gears and pulleys. Its an 03 4.6l Block.It's N/A, it's Auto trans with a shift kit, and it doesn't have forged internals, so I'm scared to boost it. I've got .500 cams, Ford racing upper and lower intake manifolds, Ford racing throttle body, C&L CAI, ford racing plenum and spacer, PI heads, 42k coils, 24lb injectors, SCT tuner, off-road to flow masters, and long tubes. The suspension and brakes have been upgraded as well. It runs and pulls hard, but I feel like the mods aren't working together. I think a good tune at the dyno will help alot. What should I expect as far as numbers go?

Attachments

• IMG_20170228_133100.jpg
    IMG_20170228_133100.jpg
    1.1 MB · Views: 148
  • Sponsors (?)

Don't be afraid of boost. A proper tuner will keep it safe and make good power.

Being you have a 98 it's the bastard year. You have to drop and drill your fuel pump basket so it doesn't suck the sump dry and burn out a pump.

Would a Supercharger, or turbos be the safer option while maintaining a decent power and torque gain? Btw the engine has only 32,000 or so on it. The car was owned by a marine who had it shipped to germany, then back home. It was a barn find.

The open element filter in the engine bay is not helping you at all. You are sacking in hot engine air.
For every 10* in temp rise there is a 1% loss in HP.
So on a cool 70* day your sucking in 160* air. That's around a 10% power loss... get a good Cai that puts the filter outside the engine compartment or shields it from the rest of the bay

Reactions: 1 user