Looking For Some Header / Intake Advice

GrandmasterK

Founding Member
Aug 17, 2001
Madison, WI
I've got a 1989 GT that blew a head gasket and I figured while it's apart, I would replace some parts two. The two major things I want to replace are the upper/lower intake and the heads. I've never done this before and I'm unfamiliar with why I'd want certain heads or intakes over others.

For the intakes, based on feedback I've read here, I would like to go with Trick Flow (unless someone gives me a compelling argument otherwise). Hopefully the link below works for everyone... I think I'd like to go with one of these between the $500 to $629 range.

http://www.cjponyparts.com/1979-199...04212and100000001628eq100000001761/pgsize/48/

For heads, I'm less sure of what I need but I'm looking for something that will work with the Trick Flow intake I get above and stock pistons / rollers / etc. Ideally I'd find something under $1,000 that would work with this setup. I've seen some new priced in this range and a lot of used GT-40 heads in this range (though I think I may want the GT-40P heads, which I see less of).

I'd also like to determine any other parts I need so that I have everything together when I start assembling things (ie gaskets, larger throttle body, etc). Thanks in advance, sorry if this is vague, I've never bought these types of engine parts before.

• Sponsors (?)

from your sig you also need to think about a throttle body in my opinion accufab makes the best TB some of the cheaper brands out there have issues with whistling mostly from the idle air control valve. if your going to do heads id try and find something like afrs but i dont know your budget but on the low side i know edelbrock makes a few sets just not sure about egr passages. keep in mind if you get heads they might require special headers like the P heads due to spark plug placement and since you already have an exhaust I would avoid spending more then you have to.

also consider a cam shaft.