New to site, looking for advice

ZX3V8

Jun 27, 2011
I figured this would be a good site to join and post on for advice. I do not own a Mustang, but I have a 2000 Focus, and within the next couple of years, I plan on converting it to RWD with a 4.6L. There is not much about this on the Focus forums, so I figured for powertrain advice, this forum will do me better. I am new to the Ford V8 world, and have never owned an 8 cylinder or RWD car. I am, however, a former ASE certified tech, so I'm not stupid when it comes to cars.

The advice I am looking for is, what engine should I go with to cram under the hood of that little car? Any Mustang engine will fit, I have already verified that, but I am looking for what will be the best bang for my buck, what will be the most reliable, what will be the cheapest engine to go with to make mods and good horsepower? I am looking to keep it OBDII, for BS emissions compliance, and not looking to make it a dedicated race car, just a fun little street/strip hotrod, so my build will definitely have manual transmission, A/C, Power Steering.

What are the pros/cons of the DOHC and the Pushrod 4.6? I'm guessing the pushrod is A LOT cheaper when it comes to repairs, but can it make anywhere near as good an amount of power?

• Sponsors (?)

I'd personally go with a pushrod motor in that car. Two big advantages that immediately come to mind are:

• the additional displacement
  • the packaging

The 302 already has 20 more cubic inches that the 4.6 (281) and can be punched out to 347 with enough money. Those cubes help with low RPM torque. Put some decent heads and I/E parts on it and you'll be set...

The 4.6, in SOHC trim (and especially in DOHC trim) is very wide and tall compared to the pushrod engine. I know it will fit with Kugel's kit but the engine bay will be cleaner and easier to work in with the smaller pushrod mill in there...

I hope you have deep pockets because this will be one ****ing expensive project....