New To The Forum, Need Help!!!

Okil69

Active User
Jun 1, 2016
Columbia KY
Hey everyone, new guy here. I just got my first fox (my dream car) it's a 91 GT 5.0 5 speed. Forgive me if I'm posting in the wrong place but it has clutch troubles and I have no clue what it could be. I'm not familiar with standard transmission vehicles as this is my first one. Anyways, the clutch pedal is about 6-8 higher than the brake and gas pedal (almost touching bottom of dash) and the clutch itself won't engage. You can put the car in gear and let off the clutch and rev it to about 4k and then all of a sudden the clutch grabs and pulls the car. Was told it had a new clutch put in about a month ago and has another new clutch to go with it because the guy thinks it out again. Before I went tearing into it I wanted to see if anyone else has experienced this problem and again any and all help is greatly appreciated as I am new to the foxbody and working on standard transmissions. Thanks to any and all who help.
Austin

• Sponsors (?)

That is odd. Normally I see the opposite where the clutch pedal is on the ground. Can you look to see if you have a metal clutch quadrant and then again in the engine bay for a metal firewall adjuster?

Reactions: 1 user
For the pedal to be that high, the only thing I can think of would be the wrong length cable. Cable too short.

Get us the requested info. Also check under the car by the bell housing and tell us if there is a long adjustable thread at the end of the cable.

Clutch pedal feels like all the other manual transmission cars I've driven. But I haven't got to drive it due to the problems its having. You can put it in 1st or reverse and let off and it doesn't do anything until you rev to about 4k then the clutch grabs

Sounds like you have the wrong cable like suggested or it's improperly placed on its hook not allowing the clutch to disengage properly.