Progress Thread Ole' Rusty 83 Notch

Jersey5.0

Sep 24, 2005
Hello everyone,

Wanted to get a thread going to share the slow progress I am making on a 1 month old project I got myself involved in.

A little background on me and why I started such a daunting project; I was the owner of 5 mustangs between the age of 17 and 20. 3 fox bodies. I worked professionally as an automotive technician for the better part of a decade. Like so many professionals before me, making my hobby my career made working on cars the last thing I wanted to do, and so I got out of mustangs (and cars) completely.

I stopped working as a technician 2 years ago, but I still work in the automotive field. I work as a technical service rep for an auto manufacturer. I do not physically work on vehicles now, only assist in diagnosing from a theoretical perspective. After not working on cars for a few years I decided I wanted to get myself a project fox body and start again.

I was not interested in buying a car that was already done. I wanted something that would keep me busy as a hobby for a long time. I think I certainly found that with this car. My goal is to have this completed in 5 years.

I found a 1983 coupe that needed a TON of work, but the price was right. Just a roller, actually more just a shell to be honest. Lots of original 83 parts included, but most are just junk at this point.

I've owned the car about a month now, and am still in the tear down phase for the most part.

The short list of what I need to get taken care of before I start putting things back together:

Both front frame rails need to be replaced (have a test piece of steel on order that I want to check out.) If this piece doesn't work out, I will have to purchase the OE frame rails from LMR I suppose. It's actually only the right front rail that's rotten, but I'm not just going to do one side.

Complete floors. Going to be ordering both side floor pans this week.