Qh: Trans Oil Temp On 5sp?

lizzard

Dec 13, 2015
hey guys im new here and a proud owner of a 95 GTS and a moates QH
im a totally noob to the QH and just began datalogging. i got a strange reading from my T4M0: "trans oil temp" shows several times per second values between 150 und 170. i have a 5speed, no auto! and no former conversion from auto to manual. why does it show me the trans oil temp. should i bother? and: does it has something to do with my bad idle?
of course i worked through the surging idle checklist of jrichker, but i found nothing, no vacuum leaks, no bad grounds. i replaced a lot of stuff like IAC,MAF, ACT, TPS, rotor, dizzy, dizzy cap, coil, spark plugs & wires. fuel rails, FPR, PCV, EGR, fuel pump etc...

problem: i cannot bring the idle down to 650 rpm with IAC unplugged, 800 rpm are what i can get, not less, looks like i have mechanical issues. and when i release the clutch in first gear or in reverse, the engine dies.

any ideas?

• Sponsors (?)

Whomever actually set that car up is probably using the extra 5 volt reference for something else he/she thought they'd like to monitor.

For all you know, that 150*-170* that you're seeing is a 5 volt reference for say.... Blinker Fluid Reservoir Level.

Find out what it's actually doing and what the reference lead is really plugged into.

upload_2015-12-18_22-53-1.png

If I had to guess, the most common sensor to wire into an unused lead is a wideband (though usually people use the egr input, but if you have a functional egr they may have used the trans temp). Does your car happen to have one? The rapid switching you're seeing looks kind of like a nice o2 sensor narrow-band output. The software of course is just seeing voltage and converts that to a temperature reading.