Question about whether or not to replace frame rail.

darrenfpc

Jan 30, 2008
Hello all,

I have a question that I figured I'd run off some of you. I have a 68 Mustang Coupe that I've been working on and off for a few years while in the Army.

The question I pose to this forum is to whether to replace the Driver Side Frame Rail and Frame Rail extension.

Here are some pics I took with my cell phone (good camara still in deployment storage):

This is a picture of the engine bay side of the Frame Rail Extension on the driver's side:

bentsideofdriversidefraxv4.th.jpg

This is a picture of inside the frame rail on the Driver's side:

framerailandframerailexcs3.th.jpg

This is the tip of Frame Rail Extension:

tipofframerailextensionbv7.th.jpg

What do you guys think? This is my attempt on restoring/modifying a car. Any input would be appreciated. (Reenmachine's site rocks.)

Darren

Attachments

• bentsideofdriversidefraxv4.th.jpg
    bentsideofdriversidefraxv4.th.jpg
    7 KB · Views: 50
  • framerailandframerailexcs3.th.jpg
    framerailandframerailexcs3.th.jpg
    7 KB · Views: 66
  • tipofframerailextensionbv7.th.jpg
    tipofframerailextensionbv7.th.jpg
    7 KB · Views: 65
  • Sponsors (?)

Hi Darren-
It's really hard to tell just from pics (no matter what the camera) so you've really got to make the call. These are structural parts so I'd tend to err on the safe side. If you see that there are significant weak spots and/or the steel has lost a considerable amount of its thickness, replace it.

If it's just surface rust with some deeper pitting here and there that doesn't go all the way through, then you can probably save it. Also, since you're already on the inside, weld in some reinforcement that won't be visible from the outside.