SN95 easy to work on?

fd06stang

May 5, 2012
I’m looking at purchasing a SN95 Mustang and wanted to know how easy it is to work on? I’m fairly new to working on cars but want to pick up a 99-2004 Mustang and know that I would want to or need to do some work on it. Any advice would be appreciated. Thanks.

• Sponsors (?)

There is nothing too complicated about 99-04 Mustangs...pretty typical front engine/rear wheel drive. Most auto parts stores will read engines codes for free if you have one, and parts are easy to obtain. There is a lot of information on them and lots of forums. Purchase the shop manual relevant to the year model you purchase. Probably a better car than most upon which to grow your mechanical skills.

IMO one of the reasons why Mustangs are such a popular car for home DIY'ers is that it's so straight forward to work on. One of the other reasons is that Ford does not make wholesale changes to the car every other year. However IMO the 1999+ Model year is superior electrically.

I personally have installed transmission, clutches, whole motors, rear ends, suspension, gas tanks in my drive way using nothing more than hand tools, a Ford manual, and an ODB2 scanner.

If interested in getting a full Ford service manual with wiring diagrams on data DVD I may be able to help. PM if interested.

Here's some information on an affordable Windows based ODB2 scanner. IMO there's no better way to begin the journey of learning how to work on your own car than leaning how to incorporate modern ODB2 methods in your trouble shooting "tool box". This will put you way of head of the typical "newbie" and in some cases will put you on the same footing as a professional garage.

ForScan ODB2 scanner w ELM327 USB
https://www.stangnet.com/mustang-forums/resources/forscan-odb2-scanner-w-elm327-usb.57/

Last edited: