system in a hatch (any help appreciated)

alright first of all i am a newbie. i have all new infinity kappas all around and a kenwood headunit completely bypassed factory amp. now it does sound much better than stock but i know its not full potential. I dont wanna add subs yet but i desire more powerful bass and even highs. any ideas for really substatially improving sound is appreciated. would new wire improve the sound greatly? i was thinking a 4 channel amp with 75 rms going to door speakers and rear hatch speakers so they wouldnt be underpowered anymore. btw why do my speakers distort when turned up all the way because they arent getting their full power rating. when i put in the rear speakers i had to cut the metal plate and i think the speakers are touching the plate so would putting some kind of deadener between the speakers and metal improve sound? sound from the rear speakers is really bad at high volumes, the door speakers sound much better. could i improve the hatch speakers with anything? btw i know the polarity is correct on my whole system. i know this was a big runon of stuff but if anybody can give me ANY ideas for some cheap improvements PLEASE TELL!!!! cheap=around $300 or lower

• Sponsors (?)

First of all, if you're running your speakers off of your headunit, the speakers are definitely not running near their full potential. If you're looking for more bass and even highs, first and easiest thing to do would be to use an amp. Find one that matches the RMS rating of your speakers and that should do good. Also, it wouldn't hurt to deaden your back speakers(maybe even your front speakers too for that matter) to get better bass response.