Temp Gauge

1989 GT

Swapped out the 85 speedo for a FM 140 and, while I had the cluster out, I bumped the temperature gauge needle and it spun around 360+ degrees. Stupidly I didn't think to spin it back or do anything with it. Now, when it's running, everything seems normal but, when I shut her off, the needle pegs all the way to the top, almost not visible behind the dash cover(?).

I know some gauges stay where they are when you shut off and some go back to "zero". Crazy as it seems, I've been driving this car for 34 years and I can't recall what the temp gauge normally does when the engine is shut off. Only thing I'm sure of is that it should not peg out all the way to the top. I'm assuming that it is going back to wherever I left it after I bumped it.

so, the Qs are:
Where should the temp needle be when everything is shut down? stay where it was when running or back to "zero"?
If "zero", is it as simple as moving the needle back to wherever that is and is that "130" or somewhere else?

thanks for any help

• Sponsors (?)

I have a 91 LX and I just returned from a drive so I looked at the stock temp gauge for you and mine remained where it was when running and did not drop down to zero…..
I then put the key back in and turned it to the start position to see if it would drop down or remain. The gauge started to slowly move down toward the bottom but when I pulled the key back out it stopped again where it was….
So if my gauge is working as it should, the answer to your question would be that when the car is shut off the stock temp gauge remains at the temp it was at when the car was shut off and does not drop to zero.
Hope this helps…

thanks for the replies...

that actually jogs memory. I'm in agreement that the temp stays where it is when you shut it off.
I was thinking I could go back in and put the needle to 130 and it would be good but I'm not sure that would actually fix it.