Urgent help please

Gilroy gonzales

Mar 4, 2023
So my beautiful 2000 stang gt had a piston thats half broken and another as well keep in mind it’s a Windsor 4.6 I go get get another block I figured were the same turns out it was a Romeo I heard they are better yet when I opened it up and took out the pistons some of the rings were stuck to it. So my questions Is it possible the crankshaft from the Romeo can fit in the Windsor with all also the pistons from the Romeo block or would I just be better off replacing the piston rings for the Romeo and leaving the Windsor behind to rot I have attached a picture of my baby so y’all can see she’s worth saving also the piston that is fine there is the Romeo one please help.
AB5E0589-A1CC-4B88-9DE8-F781BFA8305F.png
0788A3AC-0AA4-4728-AD88-A5900BEB74D1.jpeg
55B6EF32-A273-400F-ADFF-7FAE6FFE8D3F.jpeg

• Sponsors (?)

I'm no expert on either of those blocks but even if they were exactly the same you still couldn't just swap the parts over.

If the pistons are that screwed then the cylinder walls are that screwed. That means overbore and that means new pistons. There's a pretty good chance that a good portion of the [rest] of the rotating assembly is junk too.

What I would do:

Strip down both blocks (inside and out) and drop them off at a machine shop. Let them clean and inspect them both. If they're both good then sweet, pick one for your build and sell the other. Use this to help offset the cost of the rotating assembly.

The machine shop will also be able to tell you whether the cranks are good so, drop those off too. You can have them inspect the cams if you want to reuse any of those.

That engine you showed the images of, looks like it ran lean for a looooooooooong time. If I had to guess, it had help from a supercharger and a really poor (perhaps non-existent) tune.

@LILCBRA What do you know about these? I know you been studying up the last week or so :D