What disc brake kit should I choose? SWAP.1 or SWAP.3 kit from discbrakeswap.com?

Hi,

I have a 1969 Mustang Coupe, 302-2v, C4, manual drum brakes, power steering, AC, and 15" Magnum 500s. This was a daily driver for me from 1989 to 1996 and now sees a couple hundred miles a year.

I just bought a front disc brake kit from Dennis and I was all set to go with the SWAP.3 kit and then I saw the SWAP.1 kit has a 4-piston caliper. Assuming my spindles aren't in need of replacement (California car, I am the 2nd owner and it has about 168,000 miles), what should I go with?

The SWAP.1 kit is an easier install and gives me 4-piston calipers, the SWAP.3 kit is harder install, has a 1-piston caliper but should be easier to maintain than a 4-piston caliper. As a civil engineer, I like to analyze stuff to death and would really like some opinions so I can put this to bed!

Also, any recommendations on the adjustable proportioning valve vs. the OEM one that sets itself? Is the OEM one any harder to plumb etc.?

Thanks!!
Chad

• Sponsors (?)

Sure does. I would email Dennis and pose your question to him. He is pretty good about getting back to people.
If he offers the option to put the KH kit on a later model, I would see what would be involved. All his kits are very complete. I just finished a swap 2 kit this morning on a 67. So if he lists the kit for the year you want, I can't imagine it would be any more difficult than any other kit. Sorry I didn't look a little farther to answer your question.

Get rid of the stock distribution block and use a "T" to the front lines and use the new proportioning valve. Either way, Dennis has some great kits and I don't think you'll be disappointed either way you go.

Thanks for the replies

Thanks for the replies!