Where to purchase a Decent 5.0...

TnPaulMan

Feb 5, 2004
Hey guys,

I am relatively new at the whole Mustang thing but I have been wanting one for almost 10 years. I am in college right now and I figure that I have time and don't need to go anywhere so now is as good as time as ever to get into a Fox Mustang.

All I need to know is where is a good resource for picking one up and or how much is a fair price? I am looking for a GT and a five speed.

Thanks,

Paul

• Sponsors (?)

www.autotrader.com

That's where I got mine. Once I found what I was looking for, I printed out the fair market value off Kelley's blue book, edmunds and one other that I can't remember and used that as my negotiating tool. Also got a carfax account - there are plenty of bad eggs out there. The guy I bought mine from was asking $4500, and with the blue book stuff, I got it for $3,700.

I also sold a car on autotrader.com within 3 days.

Howard

I have to say I bought mine at a car lot by my house. The day a truck totalled my old car, I was riding home and it showed up there that day, I guess it was ment to be. It was right when GM and Ford started thier 60mo. 0% interest, 0 down thing so no cars were selling off these lots, so I used that as my bargaining tool. They were selling it for $5900, reduced to $5300, I got it for $4800, the other guys insurance company gave me $5200, after taxes I drove out of there with $100 left over, bought underdrive pullies with it. :banana:

When looking for a car, check body lines and how the panels line up. Watch out with cars with recently new paint jobs. Look under for parts that are not consistant with the age of the vehicles. I wouldn't buy someone elses project, so stock is the best.