Wiring Heater 65 Question

Darrel

Jul 27, 2011
NEWBE HERE!!!! I am trying to rewire my 65 6cyl with a Ron Frances Retro Wire Kit. I am stuck at the heater. My harness has a brown wire marked heater, and the heater blower motor has two wires a orange one and a black one, and on the heater case I believe I have a resistor on the side of it.It has three prongs on top and one prong on bottom or below them . I am sure the pigtail on my heater controls plugs into the three prongs on the resitor , but where do all the other wires connect. Please can anyone help I am new to wiring learning as I go . Thanks:shrug:

• Sponsors (?)

Darrel,

It sounds like you might have an early model heater blower switch. Let me ask you a few questions first. Is that original "orange" wire you have, might it be red? And the black wire, might it be black with a yellow stripe? The reason I ask is that Ford had the 2 speed and a three speed heater blower motor. In my 65 I6, I still have the 3 speed. Before I proceed to assist, I need those questions answered, then I will be able to explain better than guess. Basically though, starting with the blower motor one wires going to it either would of been yellow or red. The other wire going to the blower motor would of been either brown or black with a yellow stripe. Let me know what you come up with.

Switch

The blower motor is not the original it is a new aftermarket and the wires are orange and black. The heater selector and switch is still all original that came on the mustang. The old blower motor was shot so I bought a replacement, the old one went out in the trash years ago. Thanks

Darrel, okay, that's cool with the wiring and the aftermarket motor. Okay, after reading your first, I finally realized you have the 3 speed heater motor. (The dots are only for spacing, so the diagram will appear correct).

Heater motor ----black wire------fuse box
Heater motor ----orange wire to *single terminal