would you leave in AC system

pwcracer

Founding Member
Jun 13, 2000
Hastings, MN, USA
My car is a 94 convert and I am in the process of pulling the engine. I have been working around all the stupid a/c lines for the past 3 years, and the funny thing is, it isn't even filled with freon. I am really thinking about removing it.. It's a convert so if its ever hot out I will have the top down any way. I guess I am just tossing the idea out here..

• Sponsors (?)

I took mine out early last year. There are usually a couple of days a year that I kind of wish I still had it in the car, but overall I have no regrets.

How long have you gone without any refigerant in the system? I went for a year like that, then I figured I might as well just rip it all out since I wasn't using it anyway.

I'm in the humid state of South Carolina....the charleston part that's right by the water.

I can tell you....that I'm missing my AC and need to find another high-pressure line as soon as I can.

In the north, it'd prolly be cool to dump it

in the south...well...There's better ways to commit suicide

Its been without freon for 2 years now and the only time I miss it, is when the windshield fogs up when it rains or something. I usually never drive it in the rain, but it still happens. I can then usually run the defrost with warm air and be ok. I actually removed the A/C stuff tonight. I am going to save all the stuff in case I change my mind, but I have lived this long without it :)

Yeah, keep in mind that your defrost will no longer work. But that's what dry board erasers are for. :D

It really depends on how much you drive it. If I had a vert, I would probably do it now. But I am going to wait until I install the new engine to take it all off, if I do. It's really humid here in NC, too.

I'm in the humid state of South Carolina....the charleston part that's right by the water.

I can tell you....that I'm missing my AC and need to find another high-pressure line as soon as I can.