Engine 1967 289 T5 Swap NO Crank after putting everything back in.

67T5Swapped289

Jul 24, 2018
Hello I am new to this so I hope this is in the right place...I recently did a c4 to t5 swap in my 67. I used mostly parts from modern driveline and after putting the motor and transmission back in the car it will not crank. Also while out I replaced some thinkg on the motor such as timing belt cover, harmonic balancer, crank pulley, valve covers, and pulley's. When you turn the key it just clanks like it is bound up. Removed the starter and tried to turn the crank by hand and it will not turn. Removed plugs and I am still unable to turn the crank by hand. Any help would greatly be appreciated. Thanks

• Sponsors (?)

Step 1: Take it all back apart.
Step 2: Take pictures of each part individually
Step 3: Write down any visible part numbers, write these part numbers on tape and stick to each part.
Step 4: Count the teeth on the flywheel twice
Step 5: Take two aspirin and in the morning post pictures of these parts with the tape showing with the part numbers.

I'm not saying all this to be a smart azz. Ford has had so many variations in their parts, sometimes yearly that even the seasoned hobbyist/enthusiast can be stumped by something that should be relatively simple. Also a good tip is to study the FoMoCo numbering system. You can tell a lot by a Ford part number.

By the way, what is the part number on the bell housing?

That is why i am thinking about the flywheel bell housing ,the wrong tooth flywheel and bell housing could have the teeth into the housing and it still went to gether . But then again it could still be the flywheel bolts ,some flywheels use a shorter bolt because the fly wheel is thinner ,i have personally seen this ,the to long bolt hits the rear main cap inside and the crank will not turn ,and that is a good thing if this is the problem because it kept the bolts from destroying the main cap and filling the oil pan with metal