351 windsor build

351cougar69

Oct 11, 2018
california
alright guys so i am new to the whole thread thing, i am building a 351 windsor and i need help so i figured id ask on here and see what everyone else thinks/ can help with. i have a 1969 mercury cougar with a 351 windsor, i already yanked the motor out and after closer inspection it is actually a 351 from a 79 galaxie so im already a little distraught as to how this will affect my build....area there any differences between the 69 and 79 block? i am going after power and torque like any reasonable man would and want to know where my build should begin... if you guys have any questions ask away

• Sponsors (?)

Nothing wrong with 79 block, I believe 69 has slightly shorter deck height and 2 piece rear main were 79 may be 1 piece.
You need to decide what kind of power you want to make/what your goals are for the car, block should handle upwards of 600hp.
Both blocks would be non roller but can easily run a roller cam with the correct link bar roller lifters.
May even want to think about building a stroker 393/408 etc. for more power.

Whatever you do, professionally balance the entire rotating assembly components.. Crank, rods, pistons, flywheel, harmonic. Everything. This way it will make more power to the wheel and take more abuse without coming apart. A properly balanced engine will have minimal vibration and parts wont be beating each other up.

• Agree
Reactions: 1 users
I swapped a 302 into my station wagon and then swapped out the 302 for a 351w. I used ford fuel injection from the start and stuck with the stock mustang roller camshaft. The power is good not great but the torque difference is pure street car gold. It pulls down low where you drive a street car most of the time. How did you like the 351 that was in the cougar? Since it wasn’t original anyway get an f4te roller cam block so you can run any cam made for the 87-93 mustang top it off with aluminum heads and run a power adder.