Alum Flywheel

Okay, I am new to StangNet so Hello all! I have a question...I am replacing my stock clutch with a new Centerforce Dual Friction. What should I do with the flywheel while the tranny is off? Should I just resurface it, or just get a new one? Should I go with Aluminum? I have seen a lot of aluminum Fidanza's advertised for reasonalbe prices...what do you think about these flywheels?

Any help is appreciated!

• Sponsors (?)

Your stocker is 27 lbs... if you're going for a lighter flywheel don't go below 12 lbs or you start running into trouble. Don't know much about fidanza's flywheel... but anywho a good rule of thumb is a lb lost on the drivetrain is about the equivalent of a hp gained (or not lost due to drivetrain loss rather) so if you want to spend the money, go for it :)

I would just do a aluminum flywheel while your at it. It will be easier than getting a flywheel down the road and have to take all that a part agin.

I have a Ford Racing Aluminum flywheel on order as we speak to go with my Mcleod clutch. It weights in at 13Lbs, i think.

svttech76 said:
aluminum would be the best way to go. but if you are not going to do the aluminum i would do some sort of flywheel. i really don't like to resurface them anymore, i just have seen way to many issues come up with chatter due to poor surface texture.
right on the exact reason i went aluminum since it has replaceable steel friction plates. so i dont have to deal with getting it resurfaced.

svttech76 said:
aluminum would be the best way to go. but if you are not going to do the aluminum i would do some sort of flywheel. i really don't like to resurface them anymore, i just have seen way to many issues come up with chatter due to poor surface texture.
:Word: at least get a new one

ToplessStang said:
Even the CenterForce site says that they are not recommended for street use. I had mine resurfaced. No chatter problems yet.