Anyone Running A Optima Battery

oldskolbus

Founding Member
Apr 30, 2002
WV
Long story short. My battery is 3 years old(warranty replacement from 6years ago). My stang sits in the garage all winter, I start it whenever I think about it. I went to start it today and nonething. I tired of messing with parts store batteries.
Anyone running a optima battery? I know they run around $200, But do they last/hold a charge?

• Sponsors (?)

I've been running them for the last 10 years. Likely won't buy another since the prices have gone up. My latest one is 7 years old and is taking longer to crank over. I don't see it lasting past this year. Given by then it will be 8 years old I would say that I've gotten my money's worth.

You can buy Motorcraft batteries at O'Reilly Auto. Cheaper than the dealership as well.

I have Motorcraft in my Ranger, and Explorer Sport Trac. The trucks have never cranked over or started better before I switched, and it gets flat COLD here in WY. 3 year free replacement on a 7 year warranty is very nice as well.

Battery tender with an Autozone replacement. I am on about year 4 with the battery and it seems to be doing okay. I only clock a 1000 or so miles a year on the car, so very few startups.

Joe

I had two red tops crap out on me in 2 years. It was a hassle getting a replacement for the first one under warranty, so when the second one crapped out I said F it. Optima claimed my car must have had a draw, but I put an off brand parts store battery in and didnt have any problems with it.

Reactions: 1 user