BBK Long tube headers, questions

99FiveOh

10 Year Member
May 20, 2006
J-Ville, FL
I'm getting a great deal on a set of longtube headers, and I figured since i'm gonna be swapping in a new motor soon, I can install them then.

My question is, how much more power do they make than shorties, realistically? Sound difference?

Also, I can't seem to find a short H pipe in the Summit catalog for 94/95's that work with the 94/95 headers, what have you guys done to make it work? Can my H pipe I just bougt from Summit be modified to work with the longtubes?

I'm new to long tubes territory!

In all honesty

If talking WOT or Peak Power

LT's and Shortys will not be radically different

Where LT's really shine is on a NA application :Word:

Their longer primary tubes and true collector promote scavenging

They yield more low and mid range torque than shortys

Grady

Grady hit it dead on. To get max power you'd want LTs with collectors instead of the ball system our stock exhaust and most aftermarket has, I wish I had LTs on both my cars, but ah well.... my 65 will get all the nice parts like that once she's ready to be worked on

I noticed these BBK LT's have a ball collector on them, is that a bad thing? Is there any power to be had by cutting the ball collector off and welding flanges on? Just seems redundant to design a header and defeat it's purpose by putting ball collectors on it..lol

The ball and socket collector seals much better than the old flat flange
style collector which uses a gasket

Does the b&c collector offer more restriction

I would have to say ... YES

Then again ... For a typical Street Car NA combo at 300 or less

My gut feeling would be moving over to the flat flange collector
would only yield a handful of ponies so I don't think they hinder
such a combo too much

Now ... If we are talking Stroker of Power Adder

Of course ... The b&c will offer more restriction

Grady