Car running like crap... HELP!!!

thebullschmidt

Dec 12, 2008
ok guys ive been driving my 89 mustang for several years now its got a cam heads intake exhaust and all the supporting goodies. its been running like crap for about the last month and im at a loss. at first i thought it was running lean now i think its running extremely rich or atleast it smells like it. so far ive replaced the air filter, MAF, checked the fuel pressure, replaced the O2 sensors, fuel filter, cap and rotor button. Nothing seemes to help one minute it seemes to be running fine the next it skipps studders and falls on its face. i pulled the codes... KOEO gave me first an 11 then im guessing it spit out memory codes after that 22, 33, 87, and 96. 33 is easy i dont have and egr system any more, 87 and 96 are from when i unplugged the inertia switch to change the fuel filter. KOER gave me 33, 44, and 94. any suggestions or ideas are welcome at this point. thanks guys...

• Sponsors (?)

What are the real mods? Your description is a little vague, what mass air meter, injectors, heads, intake, cam.
Put all your vehicles details like mods, year in your signature.

Is the problem worse when the car is hot?

actually the problem more or less goes away when the car is warm and cruising down the road its wors when its first started when its cold or has sat for a few hours. ill change my signature later but for now it has bbk ssi intake 24# ford racing injectors, C&L maf and power pipe, trickflow stage 1 cam, windsor Jr heads, crane roller rockers, full msd ignition system, bbk long tubes and x pipe, a walbro 155 lph fuel pump, bbk adjustable fpr, underdrive pulleys... thats about all i can think of at this point

Code 22 is your main problem...