Contour Fans & Factory ECU

Fri Guy

15 Year Member
May 10, 2007
Looking to upgrade my older Spal fans with the Contour Fans and Mounting Kit from LMR in the near future on my 1990 GT. I'm currently running a older DCC Fan Controller. Any of you running the DDC Controller with your Contour Fans? If so can you let me know how you wired up everything? I'm not very good with electrical stuff on my car and would hate to wire something incorrectly. Also, if there is a better fan controller to use instead with these fans please let me know.

• Sponsors (?)

Not sure. I have Mark VIII fans and DCC controllers in both my cars for 10+ years so based on my experience with the quality I tend to recommend them.

I know several of the guys run the Contour fans with controllers so they should chime in.

Reactions: 1 user
I've been running some dual Spal fans without that 2SPA. Does that mean I've been running them incorrectly? I'm not the one who did the install, had a buddy long time do the work. These are the fans I'm running with the old DCC FK35 Controller.

Edit: I misunderstood your original response. I thought I needed to add the 2SPA to the FK35 controller I'm currently running. Will my FK35 work with the Contour fans or would I need to ditch it and go with the 2SPA? Also looked at the Dakota Digital Controller but not sure if it has the soft start feature. Still running my stock ECU as well.

Last edited:
You will need the 2SPA to control the two fan Contour setup such that it starts one fan at a set temperature and then the second fan 10 degrees hotter. I do not believe you can parallel the two Contour fans and have the FK35 successfully start them at the same time like one fan as the inrush will be too high but I could be wrong. The FK35 can work with a Mark VIII fan and they have a pretty high inrush when starting.

If it were me I would sell the FK35 and buy the 2SPA but I like the idea of the two fans running independently.

Email DCC and see what he says.