converting 86 5.0 to maf and 36# inj

dennis_56

Nov 6, 2007
Hi everyone, new here, helping friend out with this conversion, I'm a retired ford eec tech, their manuals don't cover this stuff..... here's the question.....

Converting a 86 GT to MAF and 36# injectors, using all new aeromotive injectors, fuel rails and adj. regulator, MAF is matched to injectors. Already installed trickflow intake and plenum w/ 70mm TB. lower end is stock. I've got all wiring and directions for install of harness and he picked up a pcm for 93 GT to run this system, my question is will this setup compensate for the injector change or will I need to have the pcm reprogrammed for the injectors??????

Also what kind of problems can I expect to run into with this change over, if any????

I've been reading a lot of info here and I am impressed with the knowledge base of the gearheads here......this site is great!!!!!! I'll be building my own soon and I am glad to know I can get experienced help here.

Thanks, in advance for the help......

• Sponsors (?)

Welcome aboard!!!

As long as the MAF/MAS is 'calibrated' to the ecu and Injector Size, the car should run pretty well.

A better solution would be a custom tune on a J3 chip, but that will be either expensive, OR time consuming.

Just to be on the safe side...
Was the MAF meter purchased new or used?
What is the catch code on the ecu?

Sounds like things will work though,
jason

Thanks for the reply Jason.....
yup new maf and harness, new soldered connectors for pcm, ( I stashed a bunch of pins when I worked at ford dlr)

I told the guy I'm doing this for that I thought 36#'s sound a bit excessive for what he is doing but he wants em, thats what he gets....