Deadly street racing accident last night in Detroit.

• Sponsors (?)

Some people... Its like the self preservation side of their brain becomes overpowered with the excitment. I've seen reasonably "safe" street racing, and I've seen really stupid street racing, and you have to question the people who let it get out of hand. Its the same kind of people who say "I'm a good driver when I'm drunk." IGNORANT.

But I think its handled poorly on both sides. Look at how the people involved are so afraid of the authorities that they don't even stick around to help people who are dying. :nonono:

Exactly. They pulled their friend out because the car was on fire...and leave the others. Those two will get caught. They checked him into the hospital and hospitals ask questions and have cameras...they'll get theirs.

I just heard that the drive of the Mustang died. If he didn't, he'd be spending the next 25+ years in jail, so I don't know what's worse.

Only time I feel safe "racing" is from a stop light on a highway or major road and no one is in front of me. I get people trying to race me on a highway when I'm doing 60 in the slow lane in traffic...idiots.

I wish the Mustang driver haden't died... Number one his family doesnt deserve to live with that, and number two he didnt actually suffer for his actions other than being in pain in the hospital.

It boggles the mind why people would do things around populated areas, if at all. Unreal!

Usually they race on this abandoned road where nobody goes and they block it off. But Dequindre is a road that is traveled by many motorists, putting everyone in danger. It was a bad part of Dequindre in Detroit, but it was 7pm...people are still traveling on that road. The other road I mentioned...racing happens there from midnight till whenever...4-5am. Most guys on my local forums post vids and pics at 5:30-6:00am when they get home.