exhaust with stock H pipe: glasspacks?

Indyjones

Aug 26, 2003
Ok. First off, I keep reading that glasspacks sound stupid on Stangs. Excuse my lack of knowledge, but I am new to Mustangs...so please don't rip me apart like a deer attacked by a pack of wolves. Have some patience :) Why do they sound so bad? I havn't heard any in real life. Anyone (who will openly admit it) have any sound clips of their Stang with glasspacks? It just seems like a cheap alternative at the moment. I've read comments that a Mustang will sound like a Camaro. I've heard some nice sounding Camaros (what's so wrong with Camaros? Live and let live, right ;).

Who here actually has glasspacks on their ride?
Sorry if I'm treading in tabu territory, but I would like some answers to this confusing topic!

(On some forums, a user only mentioning a glasspack/cherry bomb will instantly be labeled as incompetent and dumb...WHY?????)

Thanks......Indy :) :) :) :)

• Sponsors (?)

They just don't sound good. They baffle and spit and sputter on decel. Honestly an o/r midpipe with a set of mil's or a high flow midpipe will get you a descent improvement in poer and will have more of a rumble. Go buy some dynomax mufflers and weld them in. They sound descent

Well honestly.....glasspacks aren't that much different then SLP's, Magnaflows Magnapacks or Borla Stingers. They are basically a straight through muffler which is what all these are. If you plan to have glasspacks with a stock H, it wont sound bad.....but when you change the mid pipe you may not like it anymore.

If I remember right the reason why camaro's and F-Bodies don't sound like a Mustang is basically because they don't run a "True" dual exhaust setup. Basically there duals meet at a Y-Pipe instead of an H or an X.