firewall adjuster... can someone explain??

Foxfan88

My Grandpa has great wood.
Sep 13, 2004
Miami, Ok
hey i am new to this whole 5 speed ****, just got the t5 in, missing the black piece by the firewall. I think i am going to get the adjustable firewall piece.

What is it exactly and how is it adjustable?
Will it allow adjustment on the stock clutch cable???

Can someone give me the low down on these things??

• Sponsors (?)

The adjuster acts like an expandible section of clutch cable housing. If you screw it out it makes your clutch cable housing longer and vice versa. Yes it will allow adjustment of the stock cable. It's like the cable adjusters on a 10 speed bicycle.

The FWA allows you to adjust the set-up on a sytem with an oem (non adjustable) cable and an aftermarket quadrant. The adjustment on a stock set up comes from the stock quadrant and pawl, so the FWA and aftermarket quad go hand-in-hand.

It is a sleeve that allows one to pull back on the sheath to modulate the cable's length and ergo adjustment.

Good luck.

onefstsnake said:
So if I bought the FWA I would need an adjustable quadrant?

My clutch/clutch cable makes a whinning noise when im at a stop. Slightly depress the clutch and it goes away.

I would like to just buy the FWA.
Sorry if I mislead you. Because the adjustment in the cable comes from the stock quadrant, if an aftermarket quadrant is installed, a FWA is needed for the stock cable adjustments.

You can certainly use a FWA with the stock quadrant. You will have two points of adjustment and you will also be half-way ready when the stock quadrant fails.

The noise you hear is likely the TOB and you are right - dialing in a slight amount of preload helps often times with that. YOu have tried pulling up on the clutch pedal already, right? That is how to adjust the stock quadrant/pawl assembly.

Good luck.

so i should have no problems using the FWA with my stock quadrant and cable? Will it allow me any adjustment whatsoever?