H/C/I swap done!!! Tuning next?

Lab Rat

Founding Member
Oct 25, 2002
Saxonburg, PA
It took me WAY TOO LONG to do this, mostly because of work and not having enough time to spend on the car, but I finally got my H/C/I swap done: AFR 165s, Comp Cams XE264HR-14, Trickflow street intake, 24# injectors, 70mm Edelbrock TB, 75mm Professional Mass Air Systems meter, MAC longtubes, Steeda underdrives, and smog pump delete. :banana: Of course, when I first cranked it I got nothing, but that was just due to the distributor being in 180 degrees off, so now it's running pretty well.
So here's my question: I have no experience with computers, chips, tuning etc in these cars (this is my first real serious venture into engine mods in the fuelie 5.0 world - I'm mostly an old school guy). Should I be thinking about a trip to a tuner to have it tuned and a new chip burned? What would be the next step to get her running at peak performance?

Matt

• Sponsors (?)

I felt you pain on the time thing it took me about a month to get my H/C/I done and I'm still not all the way done. I still have to change my injectors to 24# and my MAF to go with it. And being that I was in a hurry I didn't get my Cam put in either. But to answer your question yes definatly get a chip and and a tune done. I have yet to do that my self too. again NO TIME!!!! OR MONEY!!!!

......it took me about a month to get my H/C/I done and I'm still not all the way done.

Ooohhhh....... I hate to even admit this, but: 16 months from start to finish. :jaw: Yep, 16 MONTHS!!!!!! Well.... it's our 3rd car, and it's a vert and we live in the Pacific Northwest, so not much good use anyway for 9 months out of the year. But still..... I was way too busy with a new job to start this project but I did it anyway:rolleyes:

CONGRATS!

hey, did you buy a brand new maf for the car or did you get a used fox one? I was just wondering cuz I'm about to do H/C/I myself and was thinking about getting a used fox maf.... if it would work?!