Hello Mustang Folks!

mmm635

Feb 5, 2004
This is my first time posting to the board after I have been surfing it ever since I have been to the Auto Show in Detroit. I have read mixed opinions about the 2005 GT and would have to say that it is an awesome vehicle for the money. Granted, it does not look like the earlier concept car but it is still pretty damn nice inside and out for under 30K. After seeing numerous photos in the past, I considered this car for purchase along with other cars (mainly M3, RX8, 350Z).

When I was at the autoshow the Mustang GT was one of the last cars I looked at along with the Ford GT (SWEET!!). This may sound crazy but I think it was the most fascinating car (reasonable) at the show. Sure, there were many cars that had more power, nicer design in some respects, build quality, and flash. All of these things come at a high cost! The Mustang GT was impressive because it embodied all of these aspects, and then some, at a reasonable cost. I was looking at the BMW's, Ferraris, Lambos, Maserati's, Audi's, etc., but the Mustang was pretty damn impressive in its own right!

I have owned many BMW's (sweet handling), Supra, Audi S4, and loved all of them. I have been considering the new M3 for the last few months until I saw the Mustang in person. I know, you really cannot compare the two side by side. The Mustang is half the price and and has a V8. I really cannot compare the handling between the two until I actually drive the Mustang GT in the future (this goes for build quality as well-different assembly plant). I have missed the sound and torque of an American V8 with the rear wheel drive since high school. Also, the fact that Ford has studied the design of the M3 suspension and applied some of the ideas to the new setup leads me to believe the GT will handle pretty good.

As much of a BMW fan I am, my wife could not believe I came from the auto show and told her the Mustang GT will be my next car.