How strong is the rear end?

Rynb15

Nov 21, 2005
I am new to mustangs so excuse the dumb questions. I have had 2 camaros and I was always afraid of breaking something at the track with slicks on. And i always heard about people breaking the rear ends. Now i never hear anything bad about them on mustangs. I guess thats a good thing. Im just wondering can a stock rear end with say 4:10s and slicks take the abuse?

• Sponsors (?)

one guy on this forum had the sstock rear with 500+rwhp(underpressuregt) but it didnt take long for everything to crumble into peices. I think the 8.8 is a great rear end. but is not great enough to hold the traction the slicks give constantly.

im sure 25thmustang will have alot of info on this

How strong is the rear end........huh.that's a good question.........well the other day my friend had a krazy idea of putting Flaming hot sauce on my Nachos.......after eating about a hand full of soaked chili nachos....I could not eat anymore...I drank like a gallon of water to cool me down...........then I passed out. I woke up on a doctors table-Ass up in the air......apprently.....not only did I get my belly pumped,,,,the doctor pumped my ass while I was knocked out.

i think the 8.8 is good for street car, never has given me problems. now if u have like 500+HP and dead hookin on slicks i dont think it will last all that long.

the factory 8.8 is actually one of the strongest points on a mustang.

gruvee87vertgt said:
How strong is the rear end........huh.that's a good question.........well the other day my friend had a krazy idea of putting Flaming hot sauce on my Nachos.......after eating about a hand full of soaked chili nachos....I could not eat anymore...I drank like a gallon of water to cool me down...........then I passed out. I woke up on a doctors table-Ass up in the air......apprently.....not only did I get my belly pumped,,,,the doctor pumped my ass while I was knocked out.

OMG, that was like grade school lame, dude.

Rynb15 said: