Insurance Industry practice

cobra_2_76

Founding Member
Aug 24, 1999
Norwalk, Ohio
I just recently called my agent to have my Cobra put storeage, removeing all insurace except comprehensive. I’ve been doing this for 20 years. Two days later I got a call to say that they wouldn’t reduce the rate on a stated value or collector policy anymore and I’d have to pay the full amount all year or cancel the car.

She said this is a change in industry practice. She’s been a good agent but I have to wonder when things like this happen.

I’ve got the Cobra on the same policy as the cars and house because my daughters still live at home and the rate has been really good. The speciality insurers either are the same price or won’t insure the car for the reason my children have their licenses.

Anyone else experiencing this???

Dave

• Sponsors (?)

I have my II covered under classic insurance through Allstate, and I pay $12 a month, so I leave it on the road year-round.
Even so, if it wasnt for the fact that I've been with Allstate for 19 years, I would have already switched to State Farm, because they provide a lot better(read: less of a douchebag) service than the rest of them. If you ever need a car repaired at a body shop and they find out you have Progressive or Allstate, they probably won't like you much.

Blue Thunder said:
I have my II covered under classic insurance through Allstate, and I pay $12 a month, so I leave it on the road year-round.

So what is your basis for the $12 a month. Stated value of the car or do you just have it on your policy?

I have a stated value....only reason I think they paid for the hood and cowl replacement when the latch failed. No questions asked and price was in the neighborhood of $5,000 for everything. Drilling out the cowl panels is a pricy jop.

Dave

From the bodyshop side:

You have to understand that the insurance industry and their policies and practices are changing all the time.