job hunt

chaos254

Founding Member
Jul 27, 2002
NJ
Just wondering how you guys went about finding jobs, etc? I graduated in decemeber and really wasn't expecting to so I'm kind of behind on the whole searching for jobs. I've been using careerbuilding, monster, and hotjobs to do some searching and sending out resumes. Also searching the local newspapers... Also how long do you guys commute? I know i'm going to have to commute but I think it'll suck if I have to go an hour or more! Any help or pointers would be great. :nice:

• Sponsors (?)

What field of work are you looking into? I usually spend countless hours studying companies in that field and go to their web site (if available). Most companies have a careers section where they post jobs, and if none are posted, sometimes they give you an email address where you can send a resume anyways. I usually try to shoot out as many resumes as I can, accompanied with a cover letter tailored to each individual company, which is a $h!t load of work. But even if you don't expect to hear back from them, you have nothing to lose by sending your resume to them anyhow.

As for location, don't limit yourself to where you are currently, unless its really disadvantageous for you to move elsewhere. I'm graduating in december and will be applying for jobs starting this summer, and I'm willing to move almost anywhere in North America if I have to. Lots of good companies pay for your moving expenses anyway.