Larger Throttle Body & Plenum - JLT CAI

roadman4.6

Mar 9, 2010
Ohio
Looking at buying a 70 or 75 mm throttle body and plenum for my relatively stock '03 GT. Approx. cost is $300 from AM. Is this worth the money for the minimum gains on a stock car? Many mixed reviews posted. Car is stock 5 speed with only Flowmaster exhaust, BBK CAI - 30,000 miles. Long term goal is to get around 300 HP with maybe a set of cams.

Seems like the next logical upgrade from the forum input is a set of gears or a tuner. Don't want to sink a whole lot of money into a project (max. $2500), just want a few more horses. Car is a weekend cruiser and sits most of the Ohio winter.

Also looked at the JLT Ram Air CAI compared to the BBK. Is it better to have the inlet in the fenderwell or no difference. Some complained the JLT large tube took away low end power on a stock car. Or just save money and stick with the BBK.

I'm a novice here, so any suggestions would be appreciated from your experience!

• Sponsors (?)

Your going to get mixed opinions on the subject. My lower intake mani just cracked, so I ordered a new lower, and a 75mm trickflow upper and throttle body. As soon as my throttle body gets here I'll give you my opinion.

My go fast mods are: bbk shorties, x pipe, magnaflows, pulleys, cai, and now the plenum and tb.

Also have misc suspension and drivetrain mods and 4.10's

The JLT is a great intake and I noticed no loss of torque with it. If anything if completly woke up my car. But since you already have the BBK I am not sure I would switch, but it is probably worth a couple horsepower.

Gears were the best affordable mod I did for my car. I would do gears first if I was going to start over.

I would wait to get a tune untill you have some more mods. You said you want 300 hp so you are going to need to get cams and ported heads before you are anywhere neer there and I would wait to get your tune untill you get both of those.