Looking for wheels and tires, need help with offsets and tire widths.

Ares67Coupe

Jun 16, 2004
Nor Cal
Well like the title says, time to purchase new wheels and tires for the mustang. The stockies aren't doing it for me anymore. SO I would like something fairly large in the rear, but not so large it affects the handling, but at the same time it has to be able to handle the power being put down by my motor. I was thinking something in the 15s or 16s, (POSSIBLY 17s) looking at AR TT-Ds and TTs. Maybe 15x8 for the rear, 15x7 for the front? Any suggestions, I am completely new to how to handle offsets etc for mustangs. Sorry if this comes up a lot, I couldn't find any answers to suit my needs. Thanks!

-Chris

• Sponsors (?)

Ares67Coupe said:
I did some research using Nick's website.

16x8" all around with 4.5" back space all around.

245/50-16 rear and 225/50-16 front, tires Michelin Pilot Sports.

this is the optimum setup for you. I am running the same cept for 235/50-16s in the rear because my toyos aren't yet avail in 245

I run AR TTd 15x7 all four. I've got 225/60 front and 255/60 rear. I tried to find 15x8 with proper backspacing, but the D's only come in 15x8.5 with the same backspacing as the 15x7 => sticks ou too far. The 255's look great out back and with the 60 height, they've got a lot of mean meat from the side. I had to roll in the lips around the wheel well though to keep from rubbing. I don't know if you can get different backspacing with the TT II's.

I've been told that you really limit your options if you go with 16 in. rims on the 67/68. It is better to go with 15's or 17's than with 16's. :shrug:
I was originally against using 15x7 on the rear, but now that I got the 255's and see how it looks all together, I would only go with a wider rim if I used a wider tire like a 275.

Two points when considering tires/rims:
- Can you safely use the rim with the backspacing