Loud noise after cam install...

Unreal281

Dec 18, 2004
Hey guys,

Just installed hi-tech stage 2 cams. did everything by the book but i have this incredibly loud "sewing maching" noise coming from the front of the motor...its really really concerning me, and I'm ridiculously bummed. :shrug:

If anyone has any suggestions...let me know. By the way, the car is a 2000 gt, and has full bolt ons, with NO tune...

• Sponsors (?)

If you've just done something as invasive as cams and now have noises from under the timing cover, it stands to reason the timing cover will have to come off to inspect it.

So...pull the front cover off and inspect everything. Hopefully that noise isn't metal to metal contact anywhere otherwise the oil pickup, pump and filter are probably full of shavings now...

yes, they are stock springs...

no, due to hi-tech saying I wouldnt have to, I did not degree them. This is my first time ever installing cams.

I had to do EVERYTHING...take the timing cover off any all. I have a press on gear car, bought new sprockets and hardware for a 2001+gt.

The HiTech cams specs are "234/230 duration, 111 lobe sep, .550/.500 lift". These aren't too far off my Comp 262 specs of 226/230, 113 and .550/.550. I've been running stock springs with these cams for a while with no issues at all. I just keep the RPM down.

The "sewing machine" noises suggest metal to metal contact or problems in the timing chain guides or tensioner arms or ... If you can definitely isolate the noise to behind the front cover (e.g. with a stethoscope) then yank it and see what's up.