Many questions...'83 F-150 XLT

I am a newbie to this site, but after doing a LOT of searching, this seems to be the best source of technical assistance on the 'net for Ford stuff.

Here's the deal. I am primarily a Chevy guy but have owned a number of Fords over the years. This weekend I bought an ultra clean, low mileage '83 F-150 XLT extended cab truck that is in VERY stock condition...351w 2bbl, C-6, 3.55 posi, EEC-III (California emmision package), and single exhaust w/cat. The engine was replaced at 58K miles with a Jasper rebuilt stock replacement engine. It has excellent oil pressure and purrs like a kitten. Factory rated power output is pretty pathetic though...something like 139hp@3800 rpms and 278 lbs-ft@2000 rpms IIRC. Gas mileage is attrocious (how can it take so much fuel to make so little power?). The problem is that it idles too high (pulls against the brakes at a dead stop in gear, and tries to diesel when you shut it off), and it runs very lean (with the corresponding lean stumble on light throttle acceleration). There appears to be absolutely no adjustability on this thing for idle speed or timing. All the vacuum hoses and fittings are in perfect shape...I could find no vacuum leaks anywhere (this was my first suspicion). Any idea's on what/how I can drop the idle speed down? I haven't got a tach installed yet, but will very soon.