Odd e-fan questions/problem.

Fett

Nov 2, 2004
The setup: Taurus fan, VW switch, 70amp relay. I have a jumper wire going from the + on the compressor to the trigger wire into the relay, with a diode in the middle to keep power from backfeeding into the compressor when t he fan comes on with the AC off.

The fan was working perfectly, coming on when need be, shutting off when not needed. The stock temp gauge never got to half way (where it used to sit with the clutch setup. Tonight I was doing something stupid....kind of. Tomorrow it goes to the track for it's (and my) first time. I will be running slicks and wanted to practice my burnout...I know, I'm a rookie. Anyway, after doing two my car started running hot. I didn't hear my fan kick on. When I would shut the car off but leave the key on ignition, the fan would kick on. I tried turning on the AC with the car off and the fan would kick on like it is supposed to do. But if I turned on the AC with the car running, the car would die. I tried it while driving, as soon as the AC turned on the car would die, if I was sitting stopped with the car out of gear, holding the RPMs at about 2k and turned the AC on, the car would die.

Basically as soon as I turn the AC on with the car running, in any condition, the car would die. And my fan will not turn on with the temp...but it does work with the AC...when the car isn't running.

I am thinking that I might have two problems. The car never really was running great with the AC on since the fan install in the first place (yes I have the 130amp alt and all correct upgraded wiring). I am thinking that maybe I blew out too much coolant and the sensor isn't picking up the coolant flow because the level is such that it is not getting to the VW sensor/switch. Obviously I can't tell that until the car cools off. I just installed a Moroso catch-can/overflow tank with nothing in it...so I am thinking that might be the source of my "fan not coming on with the temp switch" issue.