Spark Plugs, Beam Torque Wrench?

gt03gt93

Jul 31, 2009
Has anyone used a beam type torque wrench without issue on changing their plugs? I ask because I have heard that beam type torque wrenches are not well-suited to working in tight confined areas as you need to turn/twist them a certain way to get an accurate reading. I've never used a torque wrench before and would like to know if using one for changing plugs would work fine. Thanks.

• Sponsors (?)

Has anyone used a beam type torque wrench without issue on changing their plugs? I ask because I have heard that beam type torque wrenches are not well-suited to working in tight confined areas as you need to turn/twist them a certain way to get an accurate reading. I've never used a torque wrench before and would like to know if using one for changing plugs would work fine. Thanks.
There's nothing wrong with that type of torque wrench. I own the beam type and the "clicker" style. On the "beam" type the handle will pivot from side to side. As you begain to use the torque wrench, try to keep the squared up in the middle and watch the beam pointer. You'll see what I mean. Follow the instruction that come with the wrench. I does that a little practice with this type of wrench. Pearl02.

I have a beam... would like to buy a clicker but the money isn't there right now. I get free Snap-On tools from school next year. I'm definitely going for a couple clicker style torque wrenches.

The beams are fine. I've been using one for over 10 years.

I don't use my clicker style torque wrench for the plugs - I just put my hand way up on the shaft of the socket wrench (so as to limit my ability to over-torque), get em snug, then give em a little more umph. It's more of a feel thing for me...snug enough to stay but not too tight. I change plugs 2X a year, so I get to check em out often. I've never had an issue with any of the Mustangs we've owned.

whats up with ppl buying these frikin torque wrenches for frikin plugs.