Top End Cleaner/Seafoam--Opinions?

• Sponsors (?)

Jeremiah,

I don't believe in fix-its in a bottle. If you have a serious engine problem Sea Foam (or whatever) will not help you one bit. On the other hand Ford sells their own brand of "sea foam". I think it's called "carb tune up" or some such thing. I was a driveability tech at a Ford/Mercury/Lincoln and have seen some situations where it will free up a sticking valve or eliminate a cold start problem when valves are caked with carbon (carbon absorbs fuel and diverts the rest of the fuel in an unwanted spray path).

One example that comes to mind is when I had a 98 explorer that came in with a cold start problem (160000 miles). I would start it at 7AM when it was cold. It would run like crap almost like it was only running on 2 cylinders. Then after 10 seconds it would completely clear up. I could not look at any PIDS because the symptom went away fast. I was convinced that this was a carbon build up problem. If someone were to ask me to describe a carbon problem this would be a text book symptom. Decarbed the engine and it still happened. The 4.6/5.4 engines are hard to decarb so I tried it a few more times. The symptoms got worse. So, I stuck a borescope down the #1 injector hole. Their was still a bunch of carbon on the intake valve. So I pulled off the intake and cleaned the valves with a pick and cleaner. Got everything back together and it ran worse than ever! Would act up 3-4 times a day and for a longer duration. At this point, I was able to isolate the problem. The EGR was actually opening then closing after a few seconds. This just goes to show that it improved manifold vac that much.

I'm also reminded of a story of a Pontiac that had a miss fire. I suspected a sticking valve. If you have ever worked on a DOHC quad 4 you they suck. That and your suposed to have special tools to work on them. So I did a decarb. The miss went away.