Will 98 Cobra Complete Top-End Fit 98 GT?

topless98gt

Adhesive Feces
Mar 31, 2005
Arlington, TX
A friend of mine with a 98 Cobra just made me an offer that's REALLY hard to refuse...$600 for the whole top end of his engine. I was wondering if it would all bolt up to the GT 2V block. He said he'd give me everything I need to make it work (???): Cobra heads, intake manifold, plenum/throttle body, FRPP shorty headers, etc.

Does this sound like a good deal? Will this work at all? Will it be too much work?

He's selling because he is buying 03 Cobra heads/intake/etc.

I'm a newbie when it comes to innards of engines, so please help me out :SNSign:! Thannnnnks!

• Sponsors (?)

Well considereing you will need new pistons, crank and flywheel as the CR will be different. Of course you will need a different alternator, coolant tubes, timing chain cover.

Also make sure he gives you mthe injectors as well and you will need to modify the harness.

It can be done.....and $600 isn't a bad price for all of the top end, but just make sure your friend knows exactly what is entailed when he said he was willing to give you "everything I need to make it work!"

For this swap to work "properly" he will need
4V throttle body
4v intake
24 lb/hr injectors
4V heads with cams You can use an IMRC delete and epoxy the holes and tune the car
New pistons as the cr is now different
4V crank(you are now constantly revving over 6500-6800) where as the GT you don't
4V flywheel as the GT of that year has a 6 bolt flywheel and the 4V has an 8 bolt
Timing chain and secondary chains/covers
Coolant crossover tube the 4V is different
4V alternator
modify the harness
tune

I believe there are a few other odds and ends but this is pretty much the list Bill Putnam suggested years ago and why we 4V guys recommend a new motor verse a headswap.