1967 Mustang Coupe 351w Single Turbo Build

brianj5600

Sep 19, 2003
Middle TN
I started a few years ago. I have had 2 kids since the project started, which does nothing to speed things along. The car was originally a 6 cylinder and bone stock. I have redone the suspension, brakes, engine, transmission, fuel system, and rear end. All was done in my garage except the machine work. Now it is time for a turbo. I have no experience with header fab, so it is not going as fast as some builds and won't be nearly as pretty as some. The engine/car combo does not leave a lot of room for headers. I learned on the drivers side so the other went 10x faster. There was a little more room on the passenger side and the collector is inline with the motor. The drivers side had to kick out about 30 degrees or it went right into the radiator outlet. Plus I had one header under my belt. Now to cut them both apart and weld them up. The drivers side is super tight. I hope it fits after finish welding.

The engine is a 351w with SRP -27cc pistons, AFR185's, hyd flat tappet, TorkerII intake and Proform double pumper.
The turbo is an MPT-70 for now with an EV hat, Tial WG and BOV.
The fuel system is a sumped tank, A1000 pump, 13204 regulator with -8 feed and return.
The trans is a homebuilt C5 with 5 reds in the forward, 6 reds in the direct and a RMVB.
The rear end is a 95 GT 8.8 with a 3.08 gear converted for leaf springs.
1001637yg9.th.jpg
1001648oq4.th.jpg
1001638eb2.th.jpg
1001649mm3.th.jpg
1001164tt2.th.jpg
1000424ox6.th.jpg
1001642aa6.th.jpg

• Sponsors (?)

so how did you pick this specific turbo? from what car (make/model)? What tells you it will work with your carb and how are you going to mod air filter? Or you just plugging in a random turbo and will see how it works?