1991 Lx Transmission/clutch Concerns. Hard To Drive

HotRodBlack

Apr 24, 2017
Well I'm looking for some guidance as I have not dealt with a manual trans with a cable clutch in my career... I am a Toyota Mechanic, and all I have seen is hydraulic set ups.

That being said, I am looking for some guidance and some things to look at before I commit to pulling the tranny.

Note: this was the previous owner's weekend warrior... and states it's a replacement transmission

So the car is just overall difficult to drive. I'm trying to figure out if It's just old mustang, or if it's out of whack and needs to be fixed. I can drive it, but it tires me out.

First symptom is the clutch is very stiff. I feel about a quarter inch of free play in the pedal before I got some clutch and I CAN shift it out of gear less than halfway down. Problem is that I'm 170 lbs and the pedal will stand me up a little in my seat. So when I'm tryin to act like a hooligan, I'm having to literally stomp the pedal down, and even doing so I feel it travels slow.

The second symptom may be part of the first. Now when I get it into a forward gear, it'll stay and hold and won't slip under any rpm. Problem is I feel like it wants to fight me a little, almost like it's blocking me. I can downshift as well, similar deal. It doesn't grind, unless I'm going from 1-2 and my foot got tired and I didn't get the clutch all the way down (see symptom 1 lol)

Note: previous owner states a "short throw" shifter has been installed.

The third, and most irritating of them all is it pops out of reverse like every time I don't have my fist on it. Seems to do it when my Rs are higher than 1500. Then I gotta stop, stomp the pedal, and force it to stay.

So. My question is, how much of this is old mustang, and actual problem.

And for problems, where am I going first before committing to pulling the tranny.